Suck it up, Buttercup: How to Survive Unemployment

When I lived in Prague back in 2010, I had a Czech language teacher who used to say “smile, you will survive” while we hopelessly tried to learn to speak and understand Czech.

“Smile, you will survive” is something I tell myself a lot these days. 

So, here it is: 

1. Don’t get down on yourself. Feeling sorry for yourself isn’t productive, but it is easy. Luckily for me, I’ve got my very own cheering section, composed of my supportive family, awesome boyfriend, and, of course, Peach. 

2. Bring a good book. This is a rule that can be applied to life in general I think. Reading keeps your mind active, and this way you’ll still be learning and growing even if you technically aren’t doing anything. 

3. Don’t sleep all day.  Yeah, it’s tempting to do so when you have nothing to wake up for, but it won’t make you feel any better.

4. Set goals. If you’re unemployed having just graduated from college, like me, you’re probably lacking structure for the first time in a long time and this is probably unsettling. Write your goals down, both long- and short-term, and set a deadline for achieving them. That being said, make sure they’re realistic. 

Have you ever been unemployed? 

What are your survival tips? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Suck it up, Buttercup: How to Survive Unemployment

  1. Pingback: staying positive | peach in the city

Leave a Reply

